Raisin Bars

Raisin SquaresI come from health nut parents. You may even be able to go as far as to call them hippies, especially when I was a child. Many people don’t really understand why I am so weird about refined sugar, bleached flour and the likes but I get it honest-I was raised not to be a fan if this stuff and have had pretty good health as a result. I plan on being a straight up food nazi with my child, as my parents were with me and with good reason. I’m sure you will endure a few good rants about our society with heavy sugar and processed crap, but I am in a hurry so I will save that for another day. 😉

When I was little my parents took care if our household sweet teeth with a nutritious zeal. Since I am on a no dairy diet for my breastfed son I have been struggling to find sweet recipes without the cow. My mom recommended one from my childhood I had forgotten about, Raisin Bars. She went on and on about good they were and how much we all liked them way back when, so I figured I’d give it a try and it just so happens I had the recipe book it came from. I highly recommend this cookbook, Deaf Smith’s Country Cookbook: natural food for the family. You can grab a copy off amazon or eBay pretty cheap, go ahead I will wait….

Shortly after starting this I became flooded with childhood mountain memories surrounding the sweet smell if the boiling raisins. After I pulled it out of the oven and tasted it, my memory was fully restored. As a child I LOVED these! Then again, I didn’t know the taste if sugar. Lol. This is very reminiscent of homemade fruitcake (which is nothing like the crap you get at stores with the fake fruit and corn syrup). It is moist, dense, nutty and fruity. I had made it with desert in mind but think that it is better suited the day after for breakfast or as an energy bar during the day, as it is high in protein and fiber. Good stuff.

Raisin square ingredients2 cups raisins (or other dried fruit if you wish)
1 1/2 cups water
2 Tblsp butter (I use non-dairy Earths Balance)
1/2 cup honey or molasses (I used a 50/50 mix)
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups nuts
1 tsp allspice
1 tsp cinnamon
Boil raisins with butter (and water of course). Add honey/molasses while still hot. Let cool a little. Add everything else and mix well. Bake at 350 for 45 min-1 hr in a 8×8 oiled pan. Can serve warm but best a few days later. Cream cheese is great on it but I enjoy it just as it is as well.  If you decide to try it come back and me know what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

